What Is Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology is the ancient astrology of India, also known in Sanskrit as Jyotiṣh. Jyotish means light, and it is the sacred art and science of the lights in the sky, as well as the light within ourselves. Rooted in India’s system of knowledge called the Vedas, Vedic Astrology can be traced back as early as 10,000 BC. It is based on the belief that the stars and planets have a powerful influence on our lives and contain rich spiritual traditions and myths of Indian culture.

According to Vedic Astrology, there are 27 constellations made up of 12 zodiac signs, 12 houses, and 9 planets, with each house and planet representing some aspect of human life. Depending on when a person is born, the signs and planets are placed in various houses. This visual representation of the snapshot of the signs and planets is called a horoscope.

Vedic Astrology was initially used to identify dates for rituals and over time, became a tool to understand our own destiny. It provides guidance when we feel lost or confused on life’s journey. Astrology is essentially about light, because, as the old saying goes, “when there is no light, there is no life.” And when there is light, it helps see through our soul.

Vedic Astrology Dates and Signs

According to Vedic astrology, the zodiac sign is the same as the sun sign, but the Vedic astrology dates for Vedic astrology seem to be different. The dates are mentioned below:

  • Aries from 12th April to 13th May
  • Taurus from 13th May till 13th June
  • Gemini from 13th June to 14th July
  • Cancer from 14th July to August 15th
  • Leo from 15th August to September 15th
  • Libra from 15th October to 14th November
  • Scorpio from 14th November to 14th December
  • Sagittarius from 14th December to 12th January
  • Capricorn from 12th January to 11th February
  • Aquarius from 11th February to March 13th
  • Pieces from 13th March and ends on 12th April


With this data, you can easily determine your Indian zodiac signs dates and determine your horoscope.